You are here:   Events > Convention 2011
Register   |  Login


Deborah Turner Join LWVIA State Board

The 2011 LWVIA Convention was held June 4, 2011 at the Longbranch Convention Center, 90 Twixtown Road, Cedar Rapids, Iowa. There were 45 delegates from 10 Leagues including Ames, Blackhawk/Bremer, Cedar Rapids/Marion, Dubuque, Grinnell, Hamilton County, Jasper County, Johnson County, Des Moines Metro, and Ottumwa. Sioux City and Muscatine were unable to send delegates. Total attendance with State Board Members, Observers and speakers was 63 League members.

Jean McMenimen, President of Cedar Rapids/Marion welcomed the convention attendees. Myrna Loehrlein, League State President, called the Convention to order and spoke about the Poll Worker Project, the video Iron Jawed Angels, and also summarized details in the Convention Booklet and she ended by asking the audience to write down their dreams for League and then submit for the State Board to work on. Jan Beran from Ames served as parliamentarian. Janis McMillan, LWVUS Board Member and LWVIA’s Liaison to National presented Myrna a certificate for her work in Iowa on behalf of League. Janis also gave many details about the Shur Leadership Endowment and spoke of increasing membership. Amy Campbell, LWVIA lobbyist gave an update of the current legislative session which is still working to pass a budget.

The Keynote Address was given by Deb Turner M.D., president of LWV Metro Des Moines. “Iowa’s Connection to the UN Health Care Conference in Melbourne, Australia.” Dr. Turner explained the close relationship between the LWVUS and the United Nations going back to the early days when the League of Nations was established with the strong support of LWVUS. She also spoke of the connection between nations and cultures when it comes to health issues.

After a buffet luncheon, Tim O’Brien from LWVUS, spoke about the national concerns of  “V. P.” Voter Protection. A number of states have passed legislation that is very restrictive to the voting process. LWVUS is very concerned about this trend.

Patrick Powers of Hamilton County announced the Awards and Recognitions. Jane Odland, President of Jasper County LWV received recognition for League Visibility. Jean Dell accepted for the Ottumwa League, they were recognized for League Coverage in the Media. Selva Lehman received the Grinnell League Award for a 30% increase in membership. Sioux City had 10% increase and Metro Des Moines had 9% increase in membership numbers. Deb Turner accepted the Membership Award for Metro Des Moines. Myrna Loehrlein gave special recognition to Jean Dell for her two terms as Director on the State Board. Her professionalism, and valuable insights will be missed.

Carol Goodwin, Pat Jensen, and Carol Cooper submitted Proposed Amendments to the BYLAWS. Naomi Novak moved that we retain the word “biennially” on Article VIII, Section 1; Carol Spozmoni 2nded. The amended BYLAWS passed.

A Resolution was offered by Jackie Elfman LWVMDM about LWV ads targeting Senators McCaskill (MO) and Brown (MA) about their votes on Clean Air Legislation. The Parliamentarian ruled the Resolution out-of-order as it is contrary to convention rules adopted in the morning.

Karen Shimp presented the Treasurer’s report. Randi Peters presented the Proposed Budget for Mary Richards, Finance Chair. The budget included a paid part time assistant to help with social communication networking, the newsletter and other responsibilities as determined by the President. The Committee put the motion to accept the budget on the table and it passed.

E.J. Gallagher presented Adoption of a Program, “Judicial Selection and Retention.” JoAnn Finkenbinder made a friendly amendment that it be an update of the current position rather than a “study” which was accepted. The past study was done in 1962 and it advocated a merit system. Local Leagues can do education and advocacy based on the current (1962) position while the update is being done. The motion passed.

The Nominations Report was given by Jean Dell. New members to the Board are Deb Turner, Vice President and Carol Wickey, Director. A motion to accept the Nominating Committee report passed.

BIOS of our Newly Elected Board

Deborah Ann Turner, MD, JD, Vice President (2012-2014)
Dr. Turner is a native of Mason City. She says she is just a “corn-fed kid.” She received her B.S. from ISU and M.D. from UI in 1978. She specializes in Gynecologic Oncology completing a residency at UI and a Fellowship at M.D. Anderson Cancer Institute in Houston is 1985. Turner has practiced both in the academic and private sector. Currently she serves as Director of Gynecology Oncology at Mercy Medical Center Des Moines. She received JD from Drake in 2008. She has served on the Board of Regents, been involved in many voluntary services, and currently serves as President of the Des Moines Metro League. One of her current interests is Global Health. She spent three weeks this winter in Singida, Tanzania on a med/surgical medical trip. However, her children, son Daniyel, 19, a student in music business/production in Chicago and niece Danielle 25 are what make her “world go round.”

All the hard work of putting together a Convention was done by the Cedar Rapids/Marion League with Marva Livengood directing the efforts. Bonnie Pitz, State Board Member, helped with the process. Thank you Cedar Rapids/Marion for providing such a memorable experience for Convention 2011.

LWVIA in action. To see album as slide show hover over picture and the click on slide show. To see individual photos double click on album




Deborah Turner join LWVIA State Board - read complete report . . .

" Keynote speaker and new vice-president of LWVIA Board, Deborah Turner M.D. speaks to Jackie Elfman, both from Metro Des Moines League."

The first Board meeting was held July 23rd. in Marshalltown.  Various Local League Presidents were in attendance.